About Osseo

Boards & Commissions

Boards & Commissions

Boards, Commissions, and Committees

Each year the City Council appoints members to various boards and commissions, such as the Economic Development Authority, the Planning Commission, the Public Safety Advisory Committee, and others. Members may be residents and/or business representatives of these boards, commissions, or committees. 

The following are currently appointed for boards, commissions, and committees: 

Council Appointments:

Osseo Mayor:  Duane Poppe
Acting Mayor:  Mark Schulz
Alternate Acting Mayor:  Larry Stelmach
Heritage Preservation Commission:  Anne Zelenak
Northwest Hennepin Human Services Council Executive Board:  Harold E. Johnson
Northwest Suburbs Cable Communications Commission:  Mark Schulz
Shingle Creek & West Mississippi Watershed
           Management Commissions & Alternate:  Harold E. Johnson & Daniel Spanier

Council Committee Appointments:

Arts Committee:  Anne Zelenak & Duane Poppe
Budget & Finance Committee:  Duane Poppe & Harold E. Johnson
Human Resources Committee:  Mark Schulz & Larry Stelmach
Intergovernmental Relations Committee:  Harold E. Johnson & Anne Zelenak
Public Safety Advisory Committee:  Harold E. Johnson & Mark Schulz
Risk Management Committee:  Larry Stelmach & Mark Schulz

Other Appointments:

Assessor:  Hennepin County
Assistant Weed Inspector:  Todd Kintzi
Auditor:  BergenKDV 
Building Official:  Metro West Inspection Services, Inc.
City Attorney:  Civil - Mary Tietjen (Kennedy & Graven); Prosecution - Paul Baertschi (Tallen & Baertschi)
Data Practices Compliance Officer:  LeAnn Larson
Data Practices Responsible Authority:  Riley Grams
Northwest Hennepin Cable Communications Commission (Exec. Committee):  Riley Grams
Northwest Hennepin Cable Coodinators Committee:  Karen Broden
Northwest Hennepin Human Services Council Board Alternate:  LeAnn Larson
Official Newspaper:  The Press
Sewer Inspector:  Rick Hass 

Economic Development Authority:

Larry Stelmach (Term Expires: 12/31/18)
Duane Poppe (Term Expires: 12/31/18)
Mark Schulz (Term Expires: 12/31/20)
Harold E Johnson (Term Expires: 12/31/20)
Todd Woods (Term Expires: 12/31/19)
Juliana Hultstrom (Term Expires: 12/31/2022)
Dan LaRouche (Term Expires 12/31/2018)

EDA President:  Todd Woods
EDA Vice-President:  Mark Schulz
EDA Secretary:  LeAnn Larson
EDA Treasurer:  Harold E. Johnson
EDA Assistant Treasurer:  Larry Stelmach
Executive Director: Riley Grams 

Planning Commission:

Dee Bonn (Term Expires: 12/31/17)
Michael Olkives (Term Expires: 12/31/17)
Neil Lynch (Term Expires: 12/31/17)
Barbara Plzak (Term Expires: 12/31/18)
Michael Corbett (Term Expires: 12/31/18)
Alden Webster (Term Expires: 12/31/19)
Deanna Burke (Term Expires: 12/31/19)

Planning Commission Chair:  Barbara Plzak
Planning Commission Vice-Chair:  Alden Webster

Public Safety Advisory Committee:

Council Appointees:  Harold E. Johnson & Mark Schulz
Business Appointees:  Chris Williamson & Gary Current
Citizen Appointees:  Juliana Hultstrom & Darrell Winkelman
City Staff Appointees:  Riley Grams, Shane Mikkelson & Pat McGrane

Parks and Recreation Committee:

Council Appointees:  Larry Stelmach & Anne Zelenak
Citizen Appointees:  Dee Bonn, Kerstin Schulz, Alden Webster, Sloan Wallgren & Brittney Quant
City Staff Appointees:  Riley Grams & Nancy Smebak Abts

Heritage Preservation Commission 

Councilmember and Committee Liaison:  Anne Zelenak (Term expires 12/31/18)
Co-chair: Patty McLean  (Term expires 12/31/17)
Co-chair: Kathleen Gette  (Term expires 12/31/17)
Committee member: Dorothy Clarke  (Term expires 12/31/18)
Committee member: Daniel Spanier (Term expires 12/31/19)
Committee member: James Killmer (Term expires 12/31/19)



All News
  • Osseo Gateway Sign-Electronic Message Board

    The Gateway Sign, an electronic message board at the intersection of County Road 81 and Jefferson Highway in Osseo, is now up an…
  • Yard Clean-up Program

    The City of Osseo and the Osseo Education Center have teamed up to host a free yard clean-up program for those Osseo residents w…

Minidazzle & Lunch with Santa

Fri., Dec. 1 - Minidazzle 6 - 8 pm; Sat., Dec. 2 - Lunch with Santa 11 - 1, Community Center